Skip to main content
colorful handprints

Special Education

WELCOME TO THE MLK SPECIAL EDUCATION WEB PAGE

We are committed to the identification and service of special education students in the least restrictive environment possible. As a member of the North Coast Consortium for Special Education (NCCSE), we offer a full continuum of special education services that appropriately meet student needs. Our dedicated special education staff provides services for students with disabilities ranging from mild learning disorders to severe physical and mental handicaps. Credentialed special education teachers, speech therapists, occupational therapists, adapted physical education specialists, providers for the visually impaired and school psychologists make up our exceptional special education professionals.

For more information on Special Education Activities and Parent workshops, please visit the North County Consortium for Special Education website.

 

About Special Education

WHAT IS SPECIAL EDUCATION?

Special Education is specialized instruction provided for children from birth to age 22 who qualify according to the laws and regulations outlined by the state and federal government. A student may qualify for special education services as an individual with special needs in one of thirteen areas identified by the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).These are:

  • Autism
  • Deaf
  • Deaf-Blind
  • Emotionally Disturbed
  • Hard of Hearing
  • Intellectually Disabled 
  • Multiple Handicapped
  • Orthopedically Impaired
  • Other Health Impaired
  • Specific Learning Disability
  • Speech-Language Impaired
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Visually Impaired
Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School Special Education Staff

 Department Chair:  
Cindy Gisbert
(760) 901-8837
Cindy.gisbert@oside.us
 

Grade 6
Lindsey Howe (Math/Sci)
(760) 901- 8876
Lindsey.Howe@oside.us

Karel Padigos (ELA/SS)
(760) 901- 8873
Karel.Padigos@oside.us
 

 Grade 7
Ryan Leighton (Sci/Math) 
Ryan.Leighton@oside.us
(760) 901 - 8886

Rob Pokletar (ELA/SS) 
(760) 901- 8819
Robert.Pokletar@oside.us

 Grade 8
Cindy Gisbert (ELA/SS)
(760) 901 - 8837
Cindy.Gisbert@oside.us

Cynthia Rey (Math/Sci) 
(760) 901 - 8844
Cynthia.Rey@oside.us

 MS/SH Teachers
(Special Day Class):

May Bramble (SH)
(760) 901 - 8869
May.Bramble@oside.us

Kathryn Metz (M/S)
(760) 901 - 8825
Kathryn.Metz@oside.us

 Psychologist:
Cassie Kerr
(760) 901 - 8810
Wendy.Kerr@oside.us

 Speech Therapist:
Amanda Burtner
Amanda.Burtner@oside.us